Sounds of Silence

Ah, the blissful sound of silence. A writers dream.How can silence have a sound you ask? Simple. “Hello darkness my old friend”… just kidding that is Simon & Garfunkel’s version….The sound of silence comes sometimes when you don’t expect it. That brief moment (unless you live in a cabin in the woods somewhere) when you are working away at something or thinking about something and you suddenly notice…… the noise is gone….and a feeling of peace comes over you when you realize all you can hear are your own thoughts. Your thoughts become the sound of silence. (Unless you are a parent. If that is the case I have always been told silence means they are up to something.)

I had one of those peaceful moments today. It was so quiet,just a fleeting 60 seconds, but it left me feeling a tiny bit refreshed and gave me a moment to reflect on an idea for the next chapter in my book. For the briefest of moments,I felt like I could just sit and work on my book for hours and not worry about anything else.

A car honked, a door slammed and with it my tiny sliver of writers calm was gone. I knew it wouldn’t last long…. I was after all in a busy parking lot picking up my lunch.

Just a reminder to enjoy your moments of peace when and where you can find them. Even if the other people in the parking lot stare at you! Haha.

Feel free to comment,like, follow, share or tweet! @SmithsBookery

Keep the book lights burning and the pages turning!

2 thoughts on “Sounds of Silence

Leave a comment