Outside of the Outline

Writer on bike

If you follow my blog then you will be familiar with my recent book struggles. If not, here is a quick overview of the 411….

I started writing a book, I re-read what I wrote, hated it, re-wrote, then discovered I’m an idiot and should have left it as it was to begin with… I also discovered I was spending to much of my writing time on my blog, Twitter, Facebook etc. to promote myself and said (hopefully!) future book.  There you go… all caught up..

I have also been struggling with a bit of writers block recently so I’m applying a little bit of my horse knowledge to my writing. Yes, I have several horses, grew up at a riding stable, have trained a few horses, given riding lessons and worked with everything from Appaloosa’s to Thoroughbred race horses. (You learned something new about me! Write it down… there may be a quiz later….) Anyway back to my analogy…. If I have a horse that I am having a lot of issues with I  restart them on  ground work or go “back to the basics”. I have decided to do that with my writing as well.

In the beginning, I was given advice to avoid an outline because that would “restrict” my writing. Perhaps that is the case for some but for me I think it will help keep me on track. I recently used a free mind mapping software to create the outline of my book. I can’t even begin to tell you the weight that was lifted off my shoulders. My book is far from finished but now that I have everything more clearly outlined I feel like my goal is a bit more attainable.

My advice to anyone else out there would be to absolutely use an outline of some sort. You are the writer. An outline will not limit where your story goes. Only you can do that. As a matter of fact several of my chapters have gone well outside of my original outline but it still helps me keep the story on pace and it helps me to see the general layout of how many chapters I want to include.

Sometimes a writer is their own worst enemy. (Who am I kidding, it is all the time not sometimes!)

So if you are struggling like I was (and still am to an extent) my advice would be to stop where you are and re-visit your original plan for your book. Just save the current copy in case you talk yourself into making changes you don’t like as I did!

Good Luck!

 

 

As always Thank YOU so much for reading and following me on here and on Twitter (@SmithsBookery).

Leave a Reply

