19 Days

19 Days…. Nothing exciting about that number. That is just the number of days it has been since my last post. I would love to say it was because I was so engaged with finishing my book that was my reason for falling off the posting wagon. Truth is, I  lost my motivation. I discovered a bit of a plot hole in my book and while trying to fix it, I may have over thought it and actually made it worse. It’s like that tiny loose thread you find on your sweater sleeve…. You try to just quickly rip it off…next thing you know, you’re digging through your closet for something else to wear because the sweater now has an unfix-able hole.

So that is what happened to me. I tried to pull the loose thread that was a minor plot hole and now I’m considering scrapping the whole book and starting over with a new idea… Considering because I have so many good ideas (what I consider good ideas anyway) for other books but, at the end of the day, I think I will talk myself into sticking this out. So, 19 days? That is the number of days it has taken me to fall off the writing wagon, be mad, sad, depressed and finally motivate to fix the wheels and roll on.

My advice to anyone out there struggling like I am is to just keep writing. Good, bad, or ugly it is still progress! A horrible chapter is still a finished chapter! That is what editing and a pair of fresh eyes is for. Good Luck!

For those of you who follow me on here or on Twitter (@SmithsBookery) thank you so much and I hope you will stick with me for this sometimes slow and bumpy ride!

Leave a Reply

