Book Break

“Gimme a break, gimme a break, break me off a”… wait that’s an old KitKat commercial… I’m actually needing a book break, although a KitKat sounds pretty good right now as well…

I need a break from thinking about my book so I can read someone else’s. It may sound crazy but it helps clear my mind so I can get back on track with my own creation. I have always read a variety of genre’s and styles of books. I was such an advanced book addict as a child that I was having to re-read books in high school English that I had read years before in elementary school.

How do you choose what book to read if you have run out of books by your favorite authors? For me sometimes it’s reading the back flap of the book or the 1st few pages to see if it gets my attention. Other times it is by the cover of the book. I know, I know.. the old saying about “not judging a book by its cover”… well sometimes it works out. If I see a really interesting book cover or it catches my eye as I’m scrolling through on my kindle, I add it to my list of books to read. Not all of them are award winners and some may not be top notch writing but if they can make me care about the characters, then I’m all in.

(Honestly, I have read some really poorly written books and continued all the way through the series just to see what happened with certain characters.)

So, the writing lesson I take from that for my own book is ……”Stop re-writing the same sentence 12 times and just make the character more interesting!”…. Haha… Well I would prefer if my writing style wasn’t horrid as well but…..baby steps right?

I am going to list a few books below that you might find interesting. Or not…and that is ok because not everyone has the same taste. Some of them might be books I love and some might be books that I just thought were interesting…. (I have not received anything in exchange for listing these books.)

Feel Free to send me your own book faves or recommendations via this page or find me on twitter @SmithsBookery

The books below are listed in no particular order.

  • Gone with the Wind- Margaret Mitchell (Come on this is a classic!)
  • World Without End- Ken Follett
  • Ceder Cove Series- Debbie Macomber
  • Where Are The Children- Mary Higgins Clark
  • Scarpetta Series- Patricia Cornwell (I’m addicted to the whole series!)
  • The Trouble with Spells- Lacey Weatherford
  • The Eighth Guardian- Meredith McCardle
  • Matched- Ally Condie
  • The Young Elites- Marie Lu
  • Snow Like Ashes- Sara Raasch
  • Seeker- Arwen Elys Dayton
  • The Selection- Kiera Cass
  • Unbroken- Laura Hillenbrand
  • The Perseid Collapse- Steven Konkoly
  • Enclave- Ann Aguirre
  • Defy- Sara B. Larson
  • Growing Up and Other Disasters- Mandi Hayes-Spencer
  • The Giver- Lois Lowry
  • Throne of Glass- Sarah J. Maas (Fan of all her books so far!)
  • London, Surviving the Evacuation- Frank Tayell

There are so many more I could list and perhaps will create a separate page on my blog at a later time with my book recommendations and others from my readers.

 

Leave a Reply

